By: Senator(s) Robertson, Dickerson, Cuevas, To: Rules Gollott, Hewes, Lee, Moffatt, Woodfield

## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. (As Adopted by House and Senate)

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING AND COMMENDING COAST 1 ELECTRIC POWER ASSOCIATION, PEARL RIVER VALLEY ELECTRIC POWER 3 ASSOCIATION, SINGING RIVER ELECTRIC POWER ASSOCIATION, DIXIE ELECTRIC POWER ASSOCIATION, MISSISSIPPI POWER COMPANY, ENTERGY MISSISSIPPI, AND ALL OTHER ELECTRIC POWER ASSOCIATIONS IN 5 6 MISSISSIPPI FOR THEIR QUICK RESPONSE AND RESTORATION OF SERVICE 7 FOLLOWING THE MASSIVE DESTRUCTION AND POWER OUTAGES CAUSED BY HURRICANE GEORGES. 8 WHEREAS, Hurricane Georges caused over \$310 Million in damage 9 to the Mississippi Gulf Coast, and caused \$2.5 Billion in insured 10 11 damages to homes, businesses and other property in the United 12 States, making it the third costliest hurricane on record; and WHEREAS, Hurricane Georges knocked out power to nearly a 13

15 took a huge toll on the infrastructure of power providers, and

WHEREAS, electric power association officials compared the magnitude of Hurricane Georges' destruction in south Mississippi 17

to the ice storm of 1994 which struck north Mississippi, estimated 18

quarter of a million customers along the Mississippi Coast, and

19 the cost to electric power associations at more than \$75 Million

and reported that 154,250 EPA customers were without power at the 20

21 peak of the storm; and

14

16

22 WHEREAS, in the face of this destruction the following

Mississippi Gulf Coast Electric Power Associations and utility 23

24 companies mobilized linemen and all other personnel for

restoration of service and repair of infrastructure: Coast 25

26 Electric Power Association in Bay St. Louis, Pearl River Valley

2.7 Electric Power Association in Columbia, Singing River Electric

28 Power Association in Lucedale, Dixie Electric Power Association in

Laurel and Mississippi Power Company in Gulfport; and 29

30 WHEREAS, due to the magnitude of the storm, these crews were 31 forced to request assistance from the following associations and 32 33 contractors: Entergy Corporation, Alcorn County EPA, Central EPA, 34 Coahoma EPA, Delta EPA, East Mississippi EPA, 4-County EPA, Magnolia EPA, Monroe County EPA, Natchez Trace EPA, North East 35 Mississippi EPA, Northcentral Mississippi EPA, Pontotoc EPA, 36 37 Prentiss County EPA, Southern Pine EPA, Southwest Mississippi EPA, Tallahatchie Valley EPA, Tippah EPA, Tishomingo County EPA, 38 Tombigbee EPA, Twin County EPA, Yazoo Valley EPA and numerous 39 power associations, utilities and contractors from surrounding 40 41 states; and 42 WHEREAS, this massive well-organized "call center" response to restore customer power was implemented without regard to cost 43 44 or expense to the provider, and regulatory officials pronounced the response time and the human effort as commendable; and 45 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the 46 47 monumental effort of each lineman and crew member participating in this operation which was the best example of Mississippians and 48 49 their neighbors helping other Mississippians at great sacrifice: 50 NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That 51 we do hereby recognize and commend Coast Electric Power 52 Association, Pearl River Valley Electric Power Association, 53 54 Singing River Electric Power Association, Dixie Electric Power 55 Association, Mississippi Power Company, Entergy Mississippi, and 56 all other Electric Power Associations and contractors in 57 Mississippi and surrounding states for their quick response and 58 restoration of service following the massive destruction and power 59 outages caused by Hurricane Georges, and their total dedication to 60 the public. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this resolution be forwarded to 61 the Electric Power Associations of Mississippi for distribution to 62

the Electric Power Associations of Mississippi for distribution to the General Manager of each EPA in Mississippi, and to the President of Mississippi Power Company and the President of Entergy Mississippi, and be made available to the Capitol Press Corps.